top of page


What are the Seven Sacraments?

There are Seven Sacraments of The Catholic Church. They are Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Marriage and Holy Orders. They are divided into three categories: Sacraments of Initiation, Sacraments of Healing and Sacraments of Service.


What is a Sacrament?

The word Sacrament means “a sign of the sacred". The Seven Sacraments are special signs and celebrations that Jesus gave his Church that allow us to share in God’s life and work.

Not only are they signs and special celebrations of our lifelong journey and relationship with God, they are also teachings to help live out His word and ceremonies to show devotion to Him. Each Celebration of a Sacrament brings with it lots of signs and symbols.  

When we receive any of these sacraments we move closer to Jesus.


Sacraments of Initiation



We become God’s Children. We are now part of God’s family: Christians/Catholics. The Symbols of Water, Easter Candle; White Garment, Oils are used.


Baptisms are arranged via the Parish Office with the Parish Priest



Confirmation is the sacrament that deepens and strengthens the gifts of the Holy Spirit given to us in our Baptism. It is one of the sacraments of initiation that makes us full members of the Church.

Any young person currently in year 8 (or above) is welcome to register to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation.


Eucharist or Holy Communion

Jesus said "Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood will have eternal life. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Those who eat this bread will live forever.”

 He not only invites us to come to Mass but he is also coming to us by giving himself to us in Holy Communion. 

in the Eucharist we are given the gift of the Body and Blood of Jesus to nourish us as we journey through this life.

First Holy Communion is normally celebrated in May/June of school year 5. Families will be contacted via letter through the school from September with a date for a meeting of parents/carers.  Parents/carers will be given an enrolment form to fill in to be returned to the Parish to register their child. 

Please refer to the Parish Newsletter for more information 

Sacraments of Healing


Reconciliation, Penance or Confession


Anointing of The Sick

Jesus forgives us and shares his peace with us when we sincerely tell him that we are sorry for our sins. God invites us to celebrate this Sacrament regularly —any time we feel we have sinned and gone against God’s wishes, we need to ask for forgiveness.

Please check the parish newsletter for times of confession.

If you are ill or awaiting an operation a request can be made for Anointing of the Sick via the parish office. If your phone call unanswered personally, please leave a voicemail on the answer machine.

Sacraments of Service




Holy Orders

Man and woman become One to form a family. They are united in Love for each other and for children they may have.

Marriage is through appointment only. Please get in touch with the parish office.

A man is Ordained to Serve in the Church as a Priest or Deacon. 

bottom of page